Winter Skin

14 Nov
Hello hello!
Fall is amongst us, with winter not far behind. The leaves are now falling, apple cider is in stock, and the purchasing of leather boots is in demand. With winter only a few weeks away, it brings us harsh winds, a higher heat bill and last but not least DRY SKIN. If you didn’t know before, I’m here to let you know – Your skin loses moisture during the colder months due to the environments we place ourselves in. Outside in the cold air, then right into heated offices and homes. Sleeping soundly is great any day, however dry air from furnaces and heat sources suck moisture from your skin. To keep your skin supple, fresh feeling and healthy; you should change your skin routine up to adjust to the weather changes.
I’m a huge believer in SPF every day, but what about your nightly regime? Are you stripping your skin, or pampering it before bed so you can ensure that moisture is locked in? Not everyone can manage a humidifier in their room, however if you can; this can be one of the best things you can do for your skin during the cold months to maintain a healthy moisture level while asleep. A furnace heated room can hold less than 10 % moisture, whereas your skin should be receiving more than 30% humidity to stay properly moisturized.
 If you shower at night, keep it short and warm, as opposed to long and hot (no pun intended) Lukewarm water is best for showers in general during the winter months followed by a generous application of a moisturizing lotion and nightly moisturizer. I actually also recommend using a serum or oil based product nightly 2-3x a week. I have been teetering from using Nuxe’s 24 Hour Moisture Emulsion to a few dabs of Bio-Oil a few times a week which has done wonders not only for my pigmentation and acne scarring but has left my skin feeling so soft. I picked up both of these products at Shopper’s Drug Mart. In addition to this, I take fish oil. Salmon oil specifically, but taking fish oil and omega 360 supplements do wonders for skin, hair and nails. Of course, remember to drink plenty of water!
What are your best skin care tips during the winter? Let J and I know in the comments
xx K
7 Responses to “Winter Skin”

  1. thirtysomethingchic November 14, 2012 at 5:30 AM #

    In my country winter is like fall in a lot of countries. We don´t have extreme weather. I use a lot of cream during the morning, moisturizing cream during the night.

    • WhenJmetK November 14, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

      No extreme winter? You are lucky! I definitely prefer the spring and fall any day in comparison to the freezing, cold winter. Nuxe has been working wonderfully for me. What cream do you use in the mornings?
      K

  2. cravingforbarneys November 14, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

    I was missing you! Thank you for your tips! I also love Nuxe products!

  3. Katie November 15, 2012 at 11:39 AM #

    Just lukewarm huh? But those hot showers feel SO nice during these freezing cold months!

    • WhenJmetK November 15, 2012 at 5:46 PM #

      Lol, it’s SO true, they do feel amazing, and every now and then I need those hot ones, but I can’t lie. I’m starting to feel the difference in my skin sleeping in this heated room..yikes
      K

  4. amoonfull November 29, 2012 at 3:31 PM #

    Here in south florida, we don’t get those harsh winters. What works well, though, is staying hydrated. Often times, people neglect drinking sufficient water in the winter time because it’s cold. That’s when people get dehydrated the most. Drinking plenty of water helps to keep skin moist and supple. Make sure to change your cleanser for winter months. Cleansers are designed to work for your skin type. And our skin changes all the time. Make sure to get a gentle and creamy cleanser if your skin is drying during these months, even if you tend to be oily during the summer.

    Hope my suggestions helped! 🙂

    • WhenJmetK November 29, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

      They most definitely do! You are right on the money with the staying hydrated part. I can definitely tell when I haven’t been drinking enough water over a couple of days. My skin definitely doesn’t look or feel as full and healthy. I am definitely oily in the summer time, and dryer (or what I like to call “matte) in the winter months. It works in my favor most of the time. Thanks for your tips

      K

Leave a Reply

