Meeting Emily

9 Dec

Hello!!

I met Emily of Cupcakes and Cashmere at her in-store appearance & book signing on Saturday at Holt Renfrew, and it was a great success. I had such a good time, and left even more excited than when I had arrived. Alongside my good friend Simone, we were able to get there about an hour early, get assigned a number from the event co-ordinator on the 3rd floor in the cashmere department, and browse around before getting into a line to await Emily’s arrival. With intricate details such as porcelain teacups, a Victorian-style frame as a backdrop, paired with retro style chairs & a pop of tangerine color – the atmosphere was perfect. Add a few Prairie Girl cupcakes to the mix and us girls were in heaven. (I was anyways, their cupcakes are amazing!)

I am so inspired by Emily, and the success that has come from her site. The dedication she has for her followers and fans really came through as she spent a few minutes with each of us to thank us for coming out and answering any questions we had for her. It was a bit intimidating thinking of what I wanted to say to her. I didn’t want to be redundant and tell her what I assumed everyone else was telling her which was “Hi Emily, I LOVE your blog!”, haha. I did let her know that she was and continues to be a big inspiration to both Julie and myself, and asked her advice on how we can improve, maintain and sustain a successful blog. Her advice was to keep a very clean looking site, with great photos, relevant content, and remember to have fun. I think we can all agree on said advice, right?

A big thank-you to Holt Renfrew on Bloor for hosting this event. It was beautifully executed, and all the staff, as usual, were very accommodating. I am smitten with Emily’s book. I think it’s the perfect gift for any stylish girl on your Christmas list this who loves to entertain, enjoys a good desert, an even better cocktail, and some fab d-i-y projects. (I’m lookin at you pg.152!) 😉

IMG_1320

IMG_1283IMG_1322IMG_1334

IMG_1336

IMG_1351

13 Responses to “Meeting Emily”

  1. cravingforbarneys December 9, 2012 at 3:58 PM #

    Wow. I’m a hufe fan of her too! She is so natural! Could not agre more with the given advice! I’ll try to do my best too! Have a great Sunday my friend!

    • WhenJmetK December 9, 2012 at 5:49 PM #

      She was awesome. I really love the book, I actually brought it with me on the train to work this morning and am so inspired
      k

  2. Arden December 9, 2012 at 4:54 PM #

    Ah, she is amazing. xx

    • WhenJmetK December 9, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

      Ugh! I know! So pretty in person, and really inviting
      k

  3. TOBeautyReviews December 10, 2012 at 3:06 AM #

    AMAZING!!!! That’s so cool you got to meet her, I just found out the day before she was going to be in Toronto but I’m actually still on vacation in Florida LOL!

    REALLY great lipstick colour you’re wearing!

  4. fashion5point2 December 10, 2012 at 7:01 AM #

    Oh I never heard about her, but just took a look at her blog and love it 🙂 So thanks to you, I’ve added another blog to my endless list of blogs I watch every day
    Oh and the necklace you’re wearing is amazing 🙂

    • WhenJmetK December 10, 2012 at 7:23 AM #

      Oh my goodness, I can only imagine the joy you felt when you saw her blog for the first time. I know I was blown away by all the little topics and AMAZING photos she manages to cram onto one site, plus she’s so pretty (and tall…sigh)
      K

  5. Jenyfer December 10, 2012 at 7:53 AM #

    Cupcakes & Cashmere is a great blog! You are so lucky you got to meet her

  6. thirtysomethingchic December 10, 2012 at 8:42 AM #

    The must important for me is to have fun =)

  7. C December 11, 2012 at 5:48 PM #

    It WAS such a great event. Just realized I’m in some of your pictures, lol – I feel bad for obscuring your view of the table at the beginning. Feel free to steal some of my pictures 🙂 I’m still on cloud 9 x infinity as I’m sure you are. Great post! x

  8. AJay December 11, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

    What lipcolor shade # you are wearing? Love it

    • WhenJmetK December 12, 2012 at 2:13 AM #

      I’m obsessed with Ruby Woo by M.A.C and I should really space out wearing this lip out. I’m on the hunt for the perfect pink!
      K

  9. Jealeyni December 14, 2012 at 2:29 AM #

    I Love Emy! Such a cool thing that you were able to meet her.
    xo DaintyJea

Leave a Reply

