The History Behind Halston Heritage

3 Jan

Hello friends!

Welcome to the new year! How did you celebrate? I’ll tell you how I spent a few hours the day before 2013 officially arrived. I spent it reading all about the history behind Halston Heritage, as I’ve always been interested in what they were about. I have yet to be disappointed in a piece of clothing from Halston. Every time I see a piece on a beautiful woman or blogger (Wendy from Wendys Lookbook rocks this jumpsuit flawlessly here), I find myself wondering how Halston began. Roy Halston Frowick catered to luxurious American fashion of the 1970’s, using some of my personal favorite fabrics such as cashmere, suede and jersey. (Who doesn’t seriously love the soft versatility of jersey?) He is known as the father of minimalism, using simple pared-down silhouettes with flow and movement. His clientelle included such names as Andy Warhol, Bianca Jagger, and Elizabeth Taylor. Did you know that Roy Halston is the man behind the legendary design of the “pillbox” hat? He actually designed the one Jacqueline Kennedy wore in the 1960’s.

jackie-o-pillbox

Taking a look at Halston’s Pre-Spring 2013 collection, it’s clear to see why celebs such as Sarah Jessica Parker, and Miley Cyrus are fans. Modern design with clean lines, comfortable fabrics, and for lack of a better word – the looseness! All of these pieces are so beautiful in their own way. From the neutral shades to the pops of color – and offer such comfortability in wear. While Halston also caters to those looking for a tight little dress for that night out, I’m sure we can all agree that we love to look chic while not having to worry about sucking it in. (Hello!) halstonps2 I would love to own a piece from Halston Heritage. I am especially loving the orange on orange leather and cashmere combo, as well as that absolutely beautiful sequined jacket. What are your favorite pieces?halstonps4halstonps4halstonps3

Roy Halston Frowick passed away in March of 1990 and his legacy lives on through his team based out of Los Angeles. Check out the rest of the collection and more at Halston.com

xx Kathleen

14 Responses to “The History Behind Halston Heritage”

  1. ashley January 3, 2013 at 6:30 PM #

    Love Halston! And I loved this blog post- very informative.

  2. essentjewels January 3, 2013 at 8:02 PM #

    I would be happy to own at least one piece, thank you for sharing this is very informative.

    • WhenJmetK January 3, 2013 at 8:47 PM #

      Your welcome, and I would love to own something from Halston as well. Maybe a dress 😉 K

  3. Melissa & Megan @goldonblack January 4, 2013 at 7:24 AM #

    I love Halston! I can’t wait to see all the Spring 2013 collections this year!

    • WhenJmetK January 4, 2013 at 11:32 AM #

      Ditto! It’s crazy how a little research can make you fall in love with a brand

      Kathleen

  4. reversecommuter January 4, 2013 at 7:18 PM #

    Great post – and nobody creates a jumpsuit like a Halston!
    xo reversecommuter

  5. jeansandateacup January 4, 2013 at 8:30 PM #

    I haven’t really heard of Halston before (Does that make me a horrible fashion blogger?? haha…) But their spring collection looks great!
    ~Jessica
    Jeans and a Teacup

    • WhenJmetK January 5, 2013 at 5:49 AM #

      It’s true. Halston isn’t an obnoxious brand, which is a great reason that I like them. The clothes look so comfy, and I love, love, love jersey material

      Kathleen

  6. Silvia January 4, 2013 at 10:34 PM #

    Thank you for comming by,

    I like your blog to and i follow you back

    Wishing you a fun, fulfilling and fabulous 2013!

    Kisses,
    Silvia

    www. rock-and-roses.blogspot.ro

    • WhenJmetK January 5, 2013 at 5:48 AM #

      What! That’s so amazing coming from you Silvia! Thank you so much. Best wishes to you, and we look forward to your posts and getting to know you better 🙂

      j&k

  7. Katie January 5, 2013 at 1:36 PM #

    I love Halston–great post! 🙂

  8. Karen Allen January 7, 2013 at 2:45 AM #

    Great post! Love the way his brand evolved and how they kept his clean aesthetic. All I can say is that every piece is effortlessly chic.

    Karen A.

    http://hablemosfashion.blogspot.com

  9. Karen Allen (@mellanovha) January 7, 2013 at 2:46 AM #

    Great post! Love the way his brand evolved and how they kept his clean aesthetic. All I can say is that every piece is effortlessly chic.

    Karen A.

    http://hablemosfashion.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

