A Special Engagement

15 Jan

I’ll make this post short and very, very sweet as it was and will be one of the sweetest moments I will have ever had in my life. I had been a little apprehensive with sharing such a personal experience so publicly on this blog, however have quickly realized how important it is for me to have a personal connection with our readers. I enjoy celebrating other’s successes and joyful moments, and with this being one of mine, I thought it best to share with you.

It’s been a little over 2 weeks since the night my boyfriend of 8 years, Corain, proposed to me a few days after Christmas. On December.28th, the both of us drove out from New Jersey (where I’d been staying for a visit) to Long Island, New York. A family gathering on my side filled with aunts, uncles, cousins, kids, and lots of food, warmth and laughs. I had been looking forward to seeing cousins I hadn’t seen in a few years, and Corain was looking forward to meeting family members he hadn’t met before. I have so much family in the states, and it means a lot to me when I have the opportunity to spend time with them. The afternoon quickly turned to evening, and I found myself posing for what I thought would be a picture with my beau infront of my cousins’s beautiful Christmas tree. Corain took my hand and told everyone he had an announcement to make. I couldn’t believe what was taking place..I could see that he was so nervous, but with every word he spoke, I felt that much closer to him, that much more in love with him.

He asked me if I would marry him, and of course I said yes!

IMG_0152

xo Kathleen

18 Responses to “A Special Engagement”

  1. smilecalm January 15, 2013 at 9:24 AM #

    May your hearts feel happy, loved and safe.

  2. cravingforbarneys January 15, 2013 at 11:17 AM #

    OMG CONGRATS!!! You make me smile!

  3. fashion5point2 January 15, 2013 at 11:36 AM #

    WOW congrats! This is so cute and while reading the text you wrote, I got goosebumps 🙂
    I’m really happy for the both of you!

    • WhenJmetK January 15, 2013 at 7:30 PM #

      Aww, so sweet to hear that I was able to reach you that way! Thank you Carmen

  4. thirtysomethingchic January 15, 2013 at 1:39 PM #

    Congratulations 🙂

  5. Deanne January 15, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

    Congratulations lady! I am so happy for you! That ring is stunning!!!!

    Can’t wait to hear about the wedding details and pics on Twitter too!

    xo
    Deanne

    MyFashAvenue.blogspot.ca

  6. el33ta January 15, 2013 at 7:21 PM #

    Aahw that is the cutest thing ever. I’m so in love, with love. And I love the fact that you found real love! 🙂 Congrats, I’m so happy for you!

    • WhenJmetK January 15, 2013 at 7:31 PM #

      I love that saying. I also am in love with love, haha. Thank you

  7. Melissa & Megan @goldonblack January 16, 2013 at 8:10 AM #

    Congrats!!! So happy for you! Enjoy engagement life! I love LOVE! My sister Megan just got engaged too! And I’m getting married this summer! Enjoy this time together!

    • WhenJmetK January 18, 2013 at 2:57 PM #

      Congrats to Megan! That is awesome! I would enjoy it SO much more if he was over here as opposed to in New Jersey, but that will be sure to happen this year. We’re both going even more crazy without each other!

      K

  8. mystylebyjoandy January 18, 2013 at 12:12 AM #

    congratulations!!!!!

  9. @mellanovha January 23, 2013 at 3:14 AM #

    OMG!! Congratulations dear. Really happy for you and wish ya both the best. 🙂

  10. Champagne Moods January 28, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

    Congratulations!

  11. Resa McConaghy February 1, 2013 at 2:28 AM #

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

